Underwater Archaeology

Find out the thrill of discovering the past, uncover the truth about some of the local and national historical sites. The Archaeology Specialty is unique to New Zealand Sea Adventures.

  • PADI SCUBA Diving Wellington. Dive NZ Sea Adventures

    Underwater Archaeology course

    Course Length:             2 days


    Sign up Online!


    Contact Us


    Take the Master Scuba Diver challenge, NZ Sea Adventures Archaeology course, Wellington

  • Why take the PADI Underwater Archaeology course?

    NZ Sea Adventures Underwater Archaeology course, Wellington
    If you care for the environment and also have a fascination with wrecks, this is the programme for you. In order to understand where we are going we need to know where we have come from. Besides all that, archaeology is fun. The qualification is a special one and not available elsewhere in New Zealand.

    What’s involved in the course?

    We introduce the subject in the classroom and look at  case studies. This will help set the scene for the simple tasks we need to undertake underwater. After that comes the diving detective work, the best part. We will choose a wreck site or a registered underwater archaeological site and conduct a simple survey. Often when doing this we will also discover previously unknown artifacts or wreckage. We can run the course locally, which keeps the cost down, or in a special piece of New Zealand looking at the early settlement period and some unique diving.

    Who can take the course?

    To take this course you must have an Open Water Diver or Junior Open Water Diver certification and be at least 12 years old.

    When does the course run?

    All our specialties run regularly year round. Our training staff can work out an individual schedule for the specialty courses that interest you.

    Where does the course run?

    We can run the course locally any time, and we run other NZ sites about once a year.

    How do I sign up?

    Drop by the shop or give us a call to work out your Specialty Course timetable. Remember you need 5 Specialties to qualify for the PADI Master Scuba Diver rating.